University of Luxembourg


Founded in 2003, the University of Luxembourg is the only public university of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.
Multilingual, international and research-oriented, it is also a modern institution with a personal atmosphere.

About us

  • Founded in 2003
  • Multilingual, international, research-oriented
  • 860 professional experts (scientific and research staff) support the 241 professors, assistant professors and lecturers in their teaching
  • Close to the European institutions and to Luxembourg’s financial centre

Three faculties, three interdisciplinary centres

  • The Faculty of Science, Technology and Communication (FSTC)
  • The Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance (FDEF)
  • The Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education (FLSHASE)
  • The Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT)
  • The Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB)
  • The Luxembourg Centre for Contemporary and Digital History (C2DH)


  • 11 bachelor degrees, 39 master degrees (as of autumn 2016) and 7 doctoral schools based on the Bologna Accords
  • 13 vocational training and lifelong learning training courses
  • Bachelor students have to spend one semester abroad
  • Multilingualism: programmes generally taught in two languages French/English or French/German, some in three and some entirely taught in English
  • Academic staff originates from 20 different countries
  • 6,172 students originate from 115 different countries


  • 5 high-priority research areas
  • 11 research units
  • 6 endowed chairs
  • 7 doctoral schools

The sites

  • The University is on three sites: Belval Campus, Kirchberg Campus and Limpertsberg Campus
  • As of 2015, we are in Belval, at Esch-sur-Alzette



ORBilu Team


Technical details

Creation date
December 9, 2016
Modification date
July 23, 2024